Bug #1999

A local move or rename operation results in a delete/download operation in other computers

Added by Panagiotis Kanavos almost 9 years ago. Updated over 8 years ago.

Status:Closed Start date:02/06/2012
Priority:Medium Due date:
Assignee:Panagiotis Kanavos % Done:

0%

Category:Core Spent time: -
Target version:Alpha

Description

A local move or rename operation is correctly sent to the server.
Other computers however, whether they share the file or look at the same account, will only see that the old file disappeared and a new one appeared. They have no way to detect the rename/move.

One possible solution is to search the local database for any other file with the same hash. If such a single such file is found that is NOT present in the current listing, it is a candidate target for the rename/move operation. At this point we may ask the user or perform the rename operation

History

#1 Updated by Panagiotis Kanavos almost 9 years ago

Can be solved by using (and storing) the X-Object-UUID attribute. It remains the same when a file is renamed/moved on the server

#2 Updated by Panagiotis Kanavos almost 9 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Assigned

#3 Updated by Panagiotis Kanavos over 8 years ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Resolved

#4 Updated by Panagiotis Kanavos over 8 years ago

  • Status changed from Resolved to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF