« Previous | Next » 

Revision 0fa753ba

ID0fa753bad2cf5a0cf88953347e5da3aebbf21956
Parent 666e013f
Child 596b2459

Added by Michael Hanselmann over 9 years ago

Stop acquiring BGL for LUXI queries

Short description: This fixes an issue whereby masterd would become
unresponsive on the LUXI socket, leading to client timeouts. While made
worse in 2.5, the underlying issue was already present in 2.4.

Longer description: Until now all LUXI queries would acquire the BGL
(big Ganeti lock) in shared mode. With the exception of OpNodeAdd and
OpNodeRemove, this was also the case for all opcodes before version 2.5.
In 2.5 we split OpClusterVerify into multiple opcodes, one of which
(OpClusterVerifyConfig) now acquires the BGL in exclusive mode. Whether
or not doing so is good is a separate discussion: OpNodeAdd and
OpNodeRemove, as of this writing, still require an exclusive BGL.
OpClusterVerifyConfig is run more often than OpNodeAdd or OpNodeRemove
in normal clusters, which is why we only recognized this issue in 2.5.

What would happen is that once OpClusterVerifyConfig tried to acquire
its exclusive BGL while it was actually held by other opcodes (e.g.
OpInstanceReplaceDisks), the locking code would not grant shared
acquires for the BGL, even when the exclusive acquire is removed from
the queue for a short amount of time after a timeout. This is necessary
to prevent lock starvation.

In this situation further LUXI queries requiring the BGL in shared mode,
e.g. OpClusterQuery, would block and the client eventually time out.
Over time they fill the client request workerpool's queue and at that
point even requests not requiring the BGL stop working. Once the
long-running operation(s) holding the BGL in shared mode finished,
OpClusterVerifyConfig gets it in exclusive mode and everything returns
to normal. LUXI recovers very soon too.

I'd like to thank Bernardo Dal Seno for his contribution to this bugfix.

Signed-off-by: Michael Hanselmann <>
Reviewed-by: Bernardo Dal Seno <>

Files

  • added
  • modified
  • copied
  • renamed
  • deleted

View differences